Vote for your Digital Leaders

Voting for Digital Leaders 50 list 2013 has now been closed.
Thank you for your nominations and votes.

The winners in each category and the final order of the list will be announced here on Digital by Default News on 12th November.

 Shortlisted candidates:

Central Government

Adrian Goodall, Senior eAccessibility Policy Adviser at DCMS

Antonia Romeo, Director General, Ministry of Justice

Chris Kendall, Director at Planning Portal (

Ian Trenholm, Chief Operating Officer at Defra

Leigh Mortimer, Carer’s Allowance Product Manager, Digital Services Division, DWP

Liam Maxwell, Chief Technology Officer, HM Government

Mike Bracken, Executive Director of Digital, Government Digital Services

Myrtle Lloyd, Network Services Director, DWP

Sarah Carhart, Service Manager for Working Age services in DWP, Digital Services Division

Tom Loosemore, Deputy Director, Government Digital Service


Local Government

Annette King, DWP Universal Credit Pilot Project Manager at Birmingham City Council

Bill Cotton, Executive Director, Environment and Economy at Bournemouth Borough Council

Caroline Cooper, CIO at Buckinghamshire County Council

Dave Carter, Head of Manchester Digital Development Agency

Dr Dave Smith, Chief Executive at Sunderland City Council

Geoff Connell, CIO at Newham Borough Council

Ian Watt, E-Government Manager at Aberdeen City Council

Josie Fraser,  ICT Strategy Lead (Children’s Capital) at Leicester City Council

Simon Wakeman, Joint Head of Communications and Marketing at East Sussex County Council and Medway Council

Stephen Hilton, Director of the Futures Group at Bristol City Council


Elected Member

Adam Afriyie, MP for Windsor

Cllr Muhammed Butt, Brent Council

Cllr Laura Robertson-Collins, Liverpool City Council

Andrew Miller, Chair of the Science and Technology Committee, MP for Ellesmere Port & Neston

Ed Vaizey, Minister for Culture, Communications and Creative Industries and MP for Wantage & Didcot

Francis Maude, Minister for the Cabinet Office and Paymaster General, MP for Horsham

Lord Richard Allan of Hallam

Rory Stewart, MP for Penrith and the Border

Steve Webb, Minister of State (DWP) and MP for Thornbury & Yate

Tom Watson, MP for West Bromwich East


Non-Governmental Organisation


Affinity Sutton,




Nominet Trust,

People’s Voice Media,

Post Office,


Tinder Foundation,






Kainos Software Limited,

Learning Pool,

Lloyds Banking Group,



Skyscape Cloud Services,

Visa Europe,